Our Team

Staff

Aaron Arguello

Advocacy Organizer
aaron@movetexas.org

In the office: 

  • giving young people a voice on issues important to Texas
  • assisting with all aspects of our issue campaigns and direct actions

Alex Birnel

Advocacy Manager
alex@movetexas.org

In the office: 

  • giving young people a voice on issues important to Texas
  • leading all aspects of our issue campaigns and direct actions

Out of the office:

  • either staying in and watching Gilmore Girls or going out, crowd surfing, and losing hearing
  • eternal mood is John Cusack in the rain
  • will remind you constantly that another world is possible

Charlie Bonner

Communications Manager
charlie@movetexas.org

In the office:

  • Draft online and offline content including press releases, op-eds, statements, and talking points
  • Expand our reach on social media by curating content and aggressively recruiting new followers

Jazmyne Brooks

Executive Assistant
jazmyne@movetexas.org

In the office:

  • Coordinate and oversee the day-to-day management of supplies, equipment, and facilities

Raven Douglas

Deputy Director
raven@movetexas.org

In the office:

  • Assisting the Executive director in developing and executing innovative, nonpartisan initiatives that engage young people in the political process.
  • fundraising, relationship-building, and advocating for progressive issues that affect young people

Out of the office:

  • brunching with family and friends
  • concert connoisseur
  • binge watching HGTV and Buzzfeed videos

Erica Elliott

Deputy Organizing Manager
erica@movetexas.org

In the office:

  • manages our field teams in San Antonio, Austin, Seguin, and San Marcos
  • equipping young voters with the information they need to cast a ballot and help them make a plan to vote

Out of the office:

  • recreational eating
  • befriending all puppers
  • riding in the shopping cart (every single grocery trip)

Drew Galloway

Executive Director
drew@movetexas.org

In the office:

  • developing and executing innovative, nonpartisan initiatives that engage young people in the political process.
  • fundraising, relationship-building, and advocating for progressive issues that affect young people

Out of the office:

  • petting all the kitties, especially his tabby Hermes
  • trying to figure out what day it is
  • being incredibly colorblind

Brandon James

San Marcos Field Organizer
brandon@movetexas.org

In the office:

  • manage a team of fellows and interns to register thousands of young people to vote in Seguin and San Marcos
  • equipping young voters with the information they need to cast a ballot and help them make a plan to vote

Jamilyn Keeton

Operations Associate
jamilyn@movetexas.org

In the office:

  • Day-to-day operations from accounting to supplying the field with swag

Out of the office:

  • Catching Pokemon at Yanaguana Park
  •  Listening to TheSkimm while drinking boba
  • Watching John Mulaney on Netflix again

Fernanda Maldonado

Austin Field Organizer
fernanda@movetexas.org

In the office:

  • manage a team of fellows and interns to register thousands of young people to vote in Austin
  • equipping young voters with the information they need to cast a ballot and help them make a plan to vote

Out of the office:

  • exploring all the East Asian cuisine Austin has to offer
  • getting angry on her lurker Twitter account
  • probably stuck in traffic

Marliza Marin

Leadership Development Assistant
marliza@movetexas.org

In the office:

  • Assist with recruitment and management for our leadership development program

Cecilia Montesdeoca

Leadership Development Manager
cecilia@movetexas.org

In the office:

  • recruiting, training and managing young people enrolled in our spring, summer and fall leadership development programs

Madison Porras

Communication's Associate
madison@movetexas.org

In the office:

  • developing and implementing internal and external communications initiatives
  • managing digital communications to help promote and spread our message

Out of the office:

  • obsessively taking pictures of her dog Gemma
  • taking a break from a true crime podcast to watch a true crime documentary
  • eating, sleeping, and breathing graphic design

Sean Rivera

Organizing Manager
sean@movetexas.org

In the office:

  • manages our field teams across Texas
  • equipping young voters with the information they need to cast a ballot and help them make a plan to vote

Out of the office:

  • campaign volunteering and independent political organizing
  • graduated from UTSA with studies in Political Science, Business, and Communication
  • enjoying life with partner, Cole, and their first child, Calina.

 

LaShun Roy

Dallas Field Organizer
lashun@movetexas.org

In the office:

  • manage a team of fellows and interns to register thousands of young people to vote in Dallas 
  • equipping young voters with the information they need to cast a ballot and help them make a plan to vote

Out of the office:

  • Avid conniseuir of fine frozen water (good ice)
  • Doing country stuff YEE YEE
  • Watching Forged in Fire & Alaskan Bush people
  • Writing songs, poems, & screenplays

Victoria Sandoval

Laredo Field Organizer
victoria@movetexas.org

In the office:

  • manage a team of fellows and interns to register thousands of young people to vote in Laredo 
  • equipping young voters with the information they need to cast a ballot and help them make a plan to vote

Out of the office:

  • Watching and rewatching Salt, Fat, Acid and Heat on Netflix
  • Interrogating everyone about their skincare routine
  • Community theatre stage manager/actress/costumer/makeup artist/kid wrangler
  • Her standup routine will magically appear in a group of three or more people

Johnson Simmons

San Antonio Field Organizer
johnson@movetexas.org

In the office:

  • manage a team of fellows and interns to register thousands of young people to vote in San Antonio
  • equipping young voters with the information they need to cast a ballot and help them make a plan to vote

John Wingert

Development Manager
john@movetexas.org

In the office:

  • day-to-day planning, coordination, and management of all aspects of fundraising including our monthly MOVEment Maker program

Out of the office:

  • baking French macarons Great British Bake Off style
  • reading science fiction
  • arguing with people that The Muppet Christmas Carol is the best Christmas movie

Summer 2019 Fellows

Luke Alexander

Austin Field Fellow

luke@movetexas.org

Daniel Arciniega

Austin Issue Advocacy Fellow

Alexandra Brkic

San Antonio Field Fellow

alexandra@movetexas.org

Emily Burns

San Antonio Field Fellow

emilyb@movetexas.org

Elisha Carrillo

San Antonio Field Fellow

elisha@movetexas.org

Adriana Castro

San Antonio Advocacy Fellow

adriana@movetexas.org

Emily Clark

Austin Field Fellow

emily@movetexas.org

Chloe Hernandez

Laredo Field Fellow

chloe@movetexas.org

Theresa Ho

San Antonio Issue Advocacy Fellow

theresa@movetexas.org

Cristal Martinez

Laredo Field Fellow

cristal@movetexas.org

George Martinez

Laredo Field Fellow

george@movetexas.org

Emma Mayers

San Marcos/Seguin Issue Advocacy Fellow

emma@movetexas.org

Patrick Moloney

San Marcos/Seguin Field Fellow

patrick@movetexas.org

Ethen Pena

San Marcos/Seguin Field Fellow

ethen@movetexas.org

Samantha Ramirez

Austin Field Fellow

samantha@movetexas.org

Hannah Reinhard

San Antonio Field Fellow

hannahn@movetexas.org

Josue Rosa

Dallas Field Fellow

josue@movetexas.org

Shayla Rose

San Antonio Field Fellow

shayla@movetexas.org

Jesse Sanchez

San Marcos/Seguin Field Fellow

jesse@movetexas.org

Alyssa Wallace

Laredo Issue Advocacy Fellow

alyssa@movetexas.org