Our Team

Staff

Alex Birnel

Advocacy Manager

alex@movesanantonio.org

In the office: 

  • giving young people a voice on issues important to Texas
  • leading all aspects of our issue campaigns and direct actions

Out of the office:

  • either staying in and watching Gilmore Girls or going out, crowd surfing, and losing hearing
  • eternal mood is John Cusack in the rain
  • will remind you constantly that another world is possible

Raven Douglas

Deputy Director

raven@movesanantonio.org

In the office:

  • Assisting the Executive director in developing and executing innovative, nonpartisan initiatives that engage young people in the political process.
  • fundraising, relationship-building, and advocating for progressive issues that affect young people

Out of the office:

  • brunching with family and friends
  • concert connoisseur
  • binge watching HGTV and Buzzfeed videos

Drew Galloway

Executive Director / Coach Pop of Team MOVE

drew@movesanantonio.org

In the office:

  • developing and executing innovative, nonpartisan initiatives that engage young people in the political process.
  • fundraising, relationship-building, and advocating for progressive issues that affect young people

Out of the office:

  • petting all the kitties, especially his tabby Hermes
  • trying to figure out what day it is
  • being incredibly colorblind

Brandon James

San Marcos Field Organizer

brandon@movesanantonio.org

In the office:

  • manage a team of fellows and interns to register thousands of young people to vote in Seguin and San Marcos
  • equipping young voters with the information they need to cast a ballot and help them make a plan to vote

Jamilyn Keeton

Operations Associate

jamilyn@movesanantonio.org

Cristina Medina

Special Projects Field Organizer

cristina@movesanantonio.org

In the office:

  • manage a team of fellows and interns to help execute projects that increase voter registration, turnout, and education

Out of the office:

  • can be found at Steel City Pops or Hopdoddy on a weekly basis
  •  lover of coffee shops (but only drinks ICED coffee) and all things sweet
  • constantly finding reasons to talk about Dallas

Jesus Ochoa

Laredo Field Organizer

jesus@movesanantonio.org

In the office:

  • manage a team of fellows and interns to register thousands of young people to vote in Laredo 
  • equipping young voters with the information they need to cast a ballot and help them make a plan to vote

Out of the office:

  • obsessively fighting the good grammar fight
  • spending hours scrolling through Netflix without ever actually watching anything in the end
  • putting buffets out of business

Alyssa Pope

Leadership Manager

alyssa@movesanantonio.org

In the office:

  • leading all aspects of our volunteer program, including recruitment and management
  • recruiting, training and managing young people enrolled in our spring, summer and fall leadership development programs

Out of the office:

  • diligently listening to Wait Wait Don’t Tell Me (the NPR news quiz) every weekend
  • reading every graphic novel that the San Antonio Public Library system has to offer
  • talking chisme about local politics to anyone who will listen

Madison Porras

Communications Associate

madison@movesanantonio.org

In the office:

  • developing and implementing internal and external communications initiatives
  • managing digital communications to help promote and spread our message

Out of the office:

  • obsessively taking pictures of her dog Gemma
  • taking a break from a true crime podcast to watch a true crime documentary
  • eating, sleeping, and breathing graphic design

Sean Rivera

Organizing Manager

sean@movesanantonio.org

In the office:

  • manages our field teams across Texas
  • equipping young voters with the information they need to cast a ballot and help them make a plan to vote

Out of the office:

  • campaign volunteering and independent political organizing
  • graduating from UTSA with studies in Political Science, Business, and Communication
  • enjoying life with partner, Cole, and expecting their first child, Calina.

 

Johnson Simmons

Austin Field Organizer

johnson@movesanantonio.org

In the office:

  • manage a team of fellows and interns to register thousands of young people to vote in Austin
  • equipping young voters with the information they need to cast a ballot and help them make a plan to vote

Frankie Trynoski

San Antonio Field Organizer

frankie@movesanantonio.org

In the office:

  • manage a team of 5-10 fellows and 15-20 interns to register thousands of young people to vote in San Antonio
  • equipping young voters with the information they need to cast a ballot and help them make a plan to vote

Sebastian Waddy

San Antonio Field Organizer

sebastian@movesanantonio.org

In the office:

  • manage a team of 5-10 fellows and 15-20 interns to register thousands of young people to vote in San Antonio
  • equipping young voters with the information they need to cast a ballot and help them make a plan to vote