Our Team

Staff

Aaron Arguello

Advocacy Organizer
aaron@movetexas.org

In the office: 

  • giving young people a voice on issues important to Texas
  • assisting with all aspects of our issue campaigns and direct actions

Alex Birnel

Advocacy Manager
alex@movetexas.org

In the office: 

  • giving young people a voice on issues important to Texas
  • leading all aspects of our issue campaigns and direct actions

Out of the office:

  • either staying in and watching Gilmore Girls or going out, crowd surfing, and losing hearing
  • eternal mood is John Cusack in the rain
  • will remind you constantly that another world is possible

Jazmyne Brooks

Executive Assistant
jazmyne@movetexas.org

In the office:

  • Coordinate and oversee the day-to-day management of supplies, equipment, and facilities

Raven Douglas

Deputy Director
raven@movetexas.org

In the office:

  • Assisting the Executive director in developing and executing innovative, nonpartisan initiatives that engage young people in the political process.
  • fundraising, relationship-building, and advocating for progressive issues that affect young people

Out of the office:

  • brunching with family and friends
  • concert connoisseur
  • binge watching HGTV and Buzzfeed videos

Erica Elliott

Deputy Organizing Manager
erica@movetexas.org

In the office:

  • manages our field teams in San Antonio, Austin, Seguin, and San Marcos
  • equipping young voters with the information they need to cast a ballot and help them make a plan to vote

Out of the office:

  • recreational eating
  • befriending all puppers
  • riding in the shopping cart (every single grocery trip)

Drew Galloway

Executive Director
drew@movetexas.org

In the office:

  • developing and executing innovative, nonpartisan initiatives that engage young people in the political process.
  • fundraising, relationship-building, and advocating for progressive issues that affect young people

Out of the office:

  • petting all the kitties, especially his tabby Hermes
  • trying to figure out what day it is
  • being incredibly colorblind

Brandon James

San Marcos Field Organizer
brandon@movetexas.org

In the office:

  • manage a team of fellows and interns to register thousands of young people to vote in Seguin and San Marcos
  • equipping young voters with the information they need to cast a ballot and help them make a plan to vote

Saffie Kaplan

Volunteer Coordinator
saffie@movetexas.org

In the office:

  • Work with MOVE leadership to get volunteers in all departments and lead outreach for volunteer program

Out of the office:

  • telling people about something she heard on a podcast
  • messing with her sisters
  • petting one dog with each hand as evolution intended

Jamilyn Keeton

Operations Associate
jamilyn@movetexas.org

In the office:

  • Day-to-day operations from accounting to supplying the field with swag

Out of the office:

  • Catching Pokemon at Yanaguana Park
  •  Listening to TheSkimm while drinking boba
  • Watching John Mulaney on Netflix again

Fernanda Maldonado

Austin Field Organizer
fernanda@movetexas.org

In the office:

  • manage a team of fellows and interns to register thousands of young people to vote in Austin
  • equipping young voters with the information they need to cast a ballot and help them make a plan to vote

Out of the office:

  • exploring all the East Asian cuisine Austin has to offer
  • getting angry on her lurker Twitter account
  • probably stuck in traffic

Alyssa Pope

Leadership Manager
alyssa@movetexas.org

In the office:

  • leading all aspects of our volunteer program, including recruitment and management
  • recruiting, training and managing young people enrolled in our spring, summer and fall leadership development programs

Out of the office:

  • diligently listening to Wait Wait Don’t Tell Me (the NPR news quiz) every weekend
  • reading every graphic novel that the San Antonio Public Library system has to offer
  • talking chisme about local politics to anyone who will listen

Madison Porras

Communication's Associate
madison@movetexas.org

In the office:

  • developing and implementing internal and external communications initiatives
  • managing digital communications to help promote and spread our message

Out of the office:

  • obsessively taking pictures of her dog Gemma
  • taking a break from a true crime podcast to watch a true crime documentary
  • eating, sleeping, and breathing graphic design

Sean Rivera

Organizing Manager
sean@movetexas.org

In the office:

  • manages our field teams across Texas
  • equipping young voters with the information they need to cast a ballot and help them make a plan to vote

Out of the office:

  • campaign volunteering and independent political organizing
  • graduated from UTSA with studies in Political Science, Business, and Communication
  • enjoying life with partner, Cole, and their first child, Calina.

 

Victoria Sandoval

Laredo Field Organizer
victoria@movetexas.org

In the office:

  • manage a team of fellows and interns to register thousands of young people to vote in Laredo 
  • equipping young voters with the information they need to cast a ballot and help them make a plan to vote

Out of the office:

  • Watching and rewatching Salt, Fat, Acid and Heat on Netflix
  • Interrogating everyone about their skincare routine
  • Community theatre stage manager/actress/costumer/makeup artist/kid wrangler
  • Her standup routine will magically appear in a group of three or more people

Johnson Simmons

San Antonio Field Organizer
johnson@movetexas.org

In the office:

  • manage a team of fellows and interns to register thousands of young people to vote in San Antonio
  • equipping young voters with the information they need to cast a ballot and help them make a plan to vote

John Wingert

Development Manager
john@movetexas.org

In the office:

  • day-to-day planning, coordination, and management of all aspects of fundraising including our monthly MOVEment Maker program

Out of the office:

  • baking French macarons Great British Bake Off style
  • reading science fiction
  • arguing with people that The Muppet Christmas Carol is the best Christmas movie

Summer 2019 Fellows

Travis Boyd

San Antonio Advocacy Fellow

travis@movetexas.org

Alexandra Brkic

San Antonio Field Fellow

alexandra@movetexas.org

Carlos Cardona

Laredo Field Fellow

carlos@movetexas.org

Krystel Castillo

Laredo Field Fellow

krystel@movetexas.org

Adriana Castro

San Antonio Advocacy Fellow

adriana@movetexas.org

Erika Deshaies

San Antonio Advocacy Fellow

erika@movetexas.org

Lilyanna Elizondo

San Antonio Field Fellow

lilyanna@movetexas.org

Gabrielle Harris

Dallas Field Fellow

gabrielle@movetexas.org

Hannah Hughes

Austin Advocacy Fellow

hannah@movetexas.org

Cecy Jimenez

Laredo Field Fellow

cecy@movetexas.org

Reagan Madsen

Dallas Field Fellow

reagan@movetexas.org

Bianca Martinez

San Antonio Field Fellow

bianca@movetexas.org

Emma Mayers

Austin Field Fellow

emma@movetexas.org

Patrick Maloney

San Marcos Field Fellow

patrick@movetexas.org

Reyna Ortiz

Laredo Advocacy Fellow

reyna@movetexas.org

Hannah Risman

San Antonio Field Fellow

hannahr@movetexas.org

Nicholas Thompson

San Marcos Advocacy Fellow

nicholas@movetexas.org

Summer 2019 Interns

Gabriel Arana

San Antonio Field Intern

Noelle Barrera

San Antonio Advocacy Intern

Kaylee Boggan

San Antonio Field Intern

Emily Burns

San Antonio Field Intern

Emily Clark

Austin Field Intern

Claudia Cuellar

Austin Field Intern

Astrid Echegoyen

San Marcos Advocacy Intern

Brandon Hernandez

Laredo Field Intern

Elmer Jose Herrera

Dallas Field Intern

Cristal Martinez

Laredo Field Intern

Marilyn Quevedo

San Antonio Field Intern

Jacquelyn Rasco

San Antonio Advocacy Intern

Addison Sheppard

San Antonio Advocacy Intern

Blake Zimmerman

San Antonio Advocacy Intern

Not Pictured:

Mika Chavez, Lucia Conchas, Anna Flores, Lorenzo Galvan, Bella Garcia, Victoria Gaytan, Delina George, Lauren Munoz, Josh Peck, Elise Powers, Jennifer Rodriguez, Diana Sotelo, and Madelyne Wilson